5th Temporal Web Analytics Workshop (TempWeb)

In conjunction with
WWW 2015 Florence, Italy.


"Introduction to the Workshop"
Marc Spaniol (Caen University, France), Ricardo Baeza-Yates (Yahoo Labs, Sunnyvale, USA), Julien Masanès (Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands)

Social Networks
Chair: Nattiya Kanhabua (L3S Hanover, Germany)

KEYNOTE: "Social Network Analytics"
Paolo Boldi (University of Milan)

"Exploring Supervised Methods for Temporal Link Prediction in Heterogeneous Social Networks"
Nataliia Ruemmele (Vienna University of Technology), Ryutaro Ichise (National Institute of Informatics, Japan), Hannes Werthner (Vienna University of Technology)

Chair: Omar Alonso (Microsoft Bing, USA)

"Learning Temporal Tagging Behaviour"
Toni Gruetze (Hasso Plattner Institute), Gary Yao (Hasso Plattner Institute), Ralf Krestel (Hasso Plattner Institute)

"Temporal Patterns in Online Food Innovation"
Tomasz Kusmierczyk (University of Warsaw), Christoph Trattner (KMI, TU-Graz), Kjetil N¯rvÂg (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)

"Terms in Time and Times in Context: A Graph-based Term-Time Ranking Model"
Andreas Spitz (Heidelberg University), Jannik Str
ˆtgen (Heidelberg University), Thomas Bˆgel (Heidelberg University), Michael Gertz (Heidelberg University)

Chair: Marc Spaniol (Université de Caen, France)

"Mining Relevant Time for Query Subtopics in the Web Archives"
Tu Ngoc Nguyen (L3S Research Center), Nattiya Kanhabua (L3S Research Center), Wolfgang Nejdl (L3S Research Center), Claudia Niederee (L3S Research Center)

"Important Events in the Past, Present, and Future"
Abdalghani Abujabal (Max Planck Institute for Informatics), Klaus Berberich (Max Planck Institute for Informatics)

"Learning to Detect Event-Related Queries for Web Search"
Nattiya Kanhabua (L3S Research Center), Tu Ngoc Nguyen (L3S Research Center), Wolfgang Nejdl (L3S Research Center)

Communities & Infrastructure
Jannik Str
ötgen (Heidelberg University, Germany)

"You Will Get Mail! Predicting the Arrival of Future Email"
Iftah Gamzu (Yahoo Labs, Israel), Zohar Karnin (Yahoo Labs, Israel), Yoelle Maarek (Yahoo Labs, Israel), David Wajc (Carnegie-Mellon University)

"Disassortative Degree Mixing and Information Diffusion for Overlapping Community Detection in Social Networks (DMID)"
Mohsen Shahriari (RWTH Aachen University), Sebastian Krott (RWTH Aachen University), Ralf Klamma (RWTH Aachen University)

"Dicer: A Framework for Controlled, Large-Scale Web Experiments"
Sarah Chasins (University of California, Berkeley), Phitchaya Phothilimthana (University of California, Berkeley)

"Scaling Down Distributed Infrastructure on Wimpy Machines for Personal Web Archiving"
Jimmy Lin (University of Maryland)


As in previous year, the workshop is specifically focussed on the temporal dimension and the challenge to leverage time signals and expressions to capture dynamics and trends and understand time contextualization. The maturity of the Web, the emergence of large scale repositories of Web material, makes this very timely and a growing set of research and services are emerging that have this focus in common. Having a dedicated workshop has proven relevant and fruitful to take a rich and cross-domain approach to this new research challenge with a strong focus on the temporal dimension.

Workshop Team

Marc Spaniol (Université de Caen, France)
Julien Masanès (
Internet Memory Foundation, France and Netherlands)
Ricardo Baeza-­Yates (
Yahoo! Labs, Spain)

Program Committee (tentative):
Eytan Adar (University of Michigan, USA)
Omar Alonso (Microsoft Bing, USA)
Ralitsa Angelova (Google, Switzerland)
Srikanta Bedathur (IIIT-Delhi, India)
Andras A. Benczur (Hungarian Academy of Science)
Klaus Berberich (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Germany)
Roi Blanco (Yahoo! Research, Spain)
Philipp Cimiano (University of Bielefeld, Germany)
Renata Galante (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil)
Adam Jatowt (Kyoto University, Japan)
Nattiya Kanhabua (L3S Research Center, Hanover, Germany)
Scott Kirkpatrick (Hebrew University Jerusalem, Israel)
Michael Matthews (Yahoo! Research, Spain)
Christian König (Microsoft Research, USA)
Frank McCown (Harding University, USA)
Michael Nelson (Old Dominion University, USA)
Kjetil Norvag (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
Nikos Ntarmos (University of Glasgow, UK)
Philippe Rigaux (Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers, France)
Thomas Risse (L3S Research Center, Germany)
Rodrygo Luis Teodoro Santos (University of Glasgow, UK)
Pierre Senellart (Telecom ParisTech, France)
Torsten Suel (NYU Polytechnic, USA)
Masashi Toyoda (Tokyo University, Japan)
Peter Triantafillou (University of Glasgow, UK)
Gerhard Weikum (Max-Planck-Institut für Informatik, Germany)

Proceedings of the workshop will be published together with the WWW proceedings.